Saturday 16th February 2019 Pre-concert talk 6:30pm, concert at 7.30pm (S)

Scottish Ensemble

Gabriela Montero piano

Mozart: Divertimento in D, K.136
Bach: Ricercar a 6
Mozart: Piano Concerto No.14 in E-flat, K.449
Gabriela Montero: Babel (new commission)
Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony Op.118a

3b Gabriela Montero

Two helpings of Mozart, Bach’s answer to a challenge from Frederick the Great and Shostakovich’s very personal tenth string quartet arranged for string ensemble by one of his pupils, offer an intriguing evening of music. Our soloist in the Mozart’s fourteenth Piano Concerto is the Venezuelan Gabriela Montero. She is renowned for her improvisations, so her own composition Babel should be a fascinating insight into her musical world.

Supported by John & Sally Barker and Alan & Jennifer Forsyth