Saturday 7th October 2017 at 7.30pm (S)

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Director/Violin: Bradley Creswick

JS Bach Brandenburg Concerto no.1 in F, BWV 1046

Bruch Violin Concerto no. 1 in G minor, Op. 26

Mendelssohn Symphony no. 1 in C minor


ZA Bradley Creswick (Credit Mark Savage) Crs3SABy the age of 14, Mendelssohn had written 13 Symphonies for String Orchestra. The symphony featured in this concert can be thought of as his first mature symphony for full orchestra, written at the advanced age of 15. Bruch’s Violin Concerto sat on top of the Classic FM ‘Hall of Fame’ favourite 300 chart for a number of years. Arguably the most popular of Romantic violin concertos, its sublime slow movement clearly ‘ticks all the boxes’. Over the first two concerts in the season, there is a rare opportunity to hear all of Bach’s six Brandenburg Concertos.. The first of them with its little band of horns, oboes and bassoon is featured in this opening concert; the rest follow on 11th November.

This concert is sponsored by Patrons Jerry & Pat Clancy and Angela & Ian Royle.