Saturday 17th March 2018 at 7.30pm (S)

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Director/Piano: Lars Vogt

Beethoven Overture Prometheus Op. 43

Beethoven Piano Concerto no. 4 in G, Op. 58

Beethoven Symphony no. 4 in B-flat, Op. 60

ZG Lars Vogt (Credit Neda Navaee)CrsAAn all-Beethoven concert starts with an early overture, brimful of energy and vigour, written in 1801 to introduce Beethoven’s only full-length ballet, The Creatures of Prometheus. This is followed by his 4th Piano Concerto, ground breaking and poetic, and his 4th Symphony, whose final movement was described after an early performance, as ‘ a riot of notes that leaves listener and player quite exhausted’. Both works show a more mature Beethoven, but were completed only five years later, and were written at the same time as another of his truly great works, the Violin Concerto.

This concert is supported by Patrons Alan & Jennifer Forsyth, John & Sally Barker and Gerry Ball & Brian Tooley.