Saturday 3rd February 2018 at 7.30pm (S)

Lakeland Sinfonia

Conductor: Michael Joel

Piano: Pascal Rogé

Lilburn Diversions

Saint-Saëns Piano Concerto no. 2 in G minor, Op. 22

Fauré Pavane

Beethoven Symphony no. 1 in C, Op. 21

ZE Pascal Roge (Credit Neda Navaee)CrsEAThe concert opens with Douglas Lilburn’s Diversions (1947) for string orchestra. This lively and thoroughly engaging work deserves to be better-known, and is introduced to us by fellow New Zealander Michael Joel. Saint-Saëns, of Carnival of the Animals fame, wrote five piano concertos. The second, with its opening ‘Homage to Bach’ movement, its scintillating  second movement and  powerful tour de force finale, is the most popular of the set. It is played by Pascal Rogé (left), possibly the world’s best interpreter of this work.é Another French work, Fauré’s ever-popular Pavane, follows, and Beethoven’s energetic Symphony no. 1 brings the evening to a close.

This concert is supported by the Friends of Lakeland Sinfonia.