Hot News:
Read Clive Walkley’s review of the October 5th concert. Why not write some comments yourself?

Change to November 9th concert: The Mozart works have been changed. Click HERE for details, or see below.

Royal Northern Sinfonia
Saturday 9th November 2019

Please Note: The second half of this concert has been changed from the works previously advertised in our brochures. It’s still Mozart, however the soloist/conductor Julian Rachlin has decided to amend the programme due to a connected tour to the Musikverein in Vienna.

PROKOFIEV: Violin Concerto No. 2, op. 63
PROKOFIEV: Classical Symphony op. 25
MOZART: Divertimento in D Major, K136
MOZART: Symphony No. 36, K.425, ‘Linz’

Julian Rachlin – our conductor and soloist.

Overview: A pair of Prokofievs and a second half of Mozart make up the programme for this concert. Prokofiev’s ‘Classical’ Symphony (1916) was his first and was written in an almost light-hearted style as he tried to imagine what Haydn might have written in 1916. A sturdy Gavotte replaces the usual Minuet. A violin concerto with castanets? Prokofiev’s second has just that – some unusual colour in the finale of this graceful and melodic work.

One of the Mozart works was written when he was just 16 years old. The other only took him 4 days to write!

Click here for more details about the concert

Find Out About
The 2019-20 Concert Season

Download our brochure and show it to your friends and neighbours, or pick up a copy at a concert

Lakeland Sinfonia Concert Society is UK registered charity 505373.
We bring high quality live classical orchestral music to Lakeland and North Lancashire.