Saturday 29th April 2017 at 7.30pm

BBC Philharmonic

Michael Seal  Conductor
Tasmin Little  Violin

Elgar Violin Concerto in B minor Op. 61
Brahms Symphony no.1 in C minor Op. 68

TwTasmin Littleo giants of the classical repertoire make up this final concert of the season: Elgar’s deeply felt, introvert and thoughtful violin concerto, and the symphony that took 20 years to emerge from Brahms’ creative processes. ‘The tramp of the giant’ [Beethoven] had hampered Brahms, but having eventually completed his 1st symphony, the second arrived in the following year. Brahms unblocked?


This concert is supported by Haigh Architects and Jane Panton.